Jesus Christ-Libertarian?? Part I

On the face of it, that seems silly; He was crucified almost two millennia before Hayek or Rand. There’s plenty of both good Christians and good libertarians who’ll take issue with me for even thinking in that direction.

Well… Not so hasty, shall we?

First of all, one of the things for which He took heat was freedom of association. Matthew 9:9-12 illustrates this: the religious elite did not approve of the people hanging out with Him. He certainly didn’t have much truck with human institutions and heirarchies. Yet so many Christians use the Bible to support institutional, heirarchal thinking, and have done so for so long that non-Christians think Christianity supports authoritarianism.

(One measure of confusion here arises from the liberal tendancy to believe in collectives. Christians are commanded to love one’s neighbor as oneself, but that is a matter of individual obedience, not a collective responsibility. All government charity is, at its core, the taking of property from one person, by force or the threat thereof, and the giving of that expropriated property to another, usually with a hefty administrative overhead. That sounds like theft, not charity.)

Stick with me-here’s lots more where that came from!

About depwavid

Contradictory facts: 1). I have Asperger's Syndrome, a form of autism characterized by a total lack of social sense and the unique ability to beat a dead horse into individual component atoms; 2). I'm an NRA Life Member who thinks the NRA doesn't go far enough in protecting the Second Amendment.; 3). I'm a MENSA-qualified genius who let his membership lapse; 4). I'm a committed Christian; 5). I'm an equally committed libertarian. 6). I admire the writings of Robert Heinlein and L.Neil Smith, but not those of Dietrich Bonhoffer, Hannah Hurnard, or Oswald Chambers; 7). I enjoyed reading Hilaire Belloc's book on the Reformation, although I disagreed with 70-80% of his premises, and... 8). There's a lot more; I'm really impossible to categorize. Maybe I'll tell you later...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

